top of page


It is Montenegro's second largest city. It is located under the Trebjese hill. It is an important industrial, cultural and educational city. Its original name is Onogost.

The city of Niksic is 54 km from Podgorica and the famous brewery known by the name of the city is located here. Known as the industrial capital of Montenegro. 

Places to see in Niksic: Ostrog Monastery, St Basil's Orthodox Church, Emperor's Bridge, St Peter and Paul Church, Crvena Stijena Archaeological Site, Communist Partisan Monument, Bedem Fortress, Mostanica Bridge, Dom Revolucije, Niksic Heritage Museum, Lake Slano, Lake Krupac

How to go?
There are direct flights from Turkey to Podgorica, the capital of Montenegro, and the journey takes approximately 1 hour and 45 minutes. You can reach Nikšić by connecting  from Podgorica airport, which is approximately 54 km away from Podgorica.


Ostrog Monastery, which stands out among the structures from the 17th century in Podgorico, is a Serbian Orthodox Church. Monastery known as one of the most frequently visited places of cross in Montenegro.

Located in the western part of Niksic Field, this lake has a unique beauty of complex karst hydrography. It is characterized by a large number of islands and peninsulas, as well as by its wild and unspoiled nature. The lake is rich in fish and attracts a large number of fishermen. You should definitely watch its unique view.


Just 1.5 km from the center of Niksic, it is one of the beautiful parks where you can take a walk in the greenery with its delicious air on the banks of the Zeta river.

The Cathedral Church
of St Basil of Ostrog

Sitting majestically atop a pine-covered hill, Nikšić's massive Serbian Orthodox cathedral was built between 1895 and 1900. A central dome fills the interior with light and massive chandeliers hanging from the ceiling. It is a monastery with magnificent mosaics.


Known by the Turkish name 'Red Rock', it is one of the most important prehistoric sites in Europe and is recognized worldwide. . There are excavated objects from 31 different periods dating to the Paleolithic, Mesolithic, Neolithic and Bronze Age. The largest number of found objects is exhibited at the Zavičajnom Museum in Nikšić. Located near the village of Petrovići, 30 km from Nikšić, is Crvena Stijena, an archaeological site from the Paleolithic Age.

The Tsar Bridge is named after the Russian Emperor III, who financed the construction of the bridge in 1894. He got it from Alexander. It crosses the Zeta river and its valley. The bridge is much wider than the modern river channel, due to the presence of a large pool of still water that existed in the past and was drained in the 20th century. The bridge made of cut stones attracts the attention of tourists.


It is located in the western part of modern Niksic, on the site of the old town of Upper Onogosht. The lower part of the settlement, where the tradesmen lived, was outside the city walls and had its own defense system. The fortification, which was divided into two as west and east, had six towers located at the corners of the castle, as well as the outer castle walls. In the middle is the oldest part of the castle - VI. The Castel, which was built in the Roman period in the 19th century.

Mostanica Bridge

There is no clear data on the exact date of the construction of the Moštanica Bridge, but many archaeologists believe it dates back to the 3rd century and was built by the Romans. The bridge has typical Roman architecture. The Moštanica Bridge was built from regularly hewn limestone blocks.


This spomenical in Nikšić commemorates the fallen soldiers from this city who fought against the Axis invaders during the National Liberation War (World War II). Also this spomenik is a memorial to 32 Partisan soldiers and anti-fascist warriors who were executed on Trebjesa Hill where this monument is located.

bottom of page